R.I.P. Mike

It’s a sad sad day when you wake up to the news of Michael Jackson passing.  To cheer myself up I spent the morning cleaning my apartment and doing laundry while listening to the classics.

Regardless of what you think of the guy, and the horrible allegations, the changing appearance…and whatever, there is no denying his musical genius.  He makes us question the effects your surroundings, upbringing and relationship with your parents, as well as societal pressures and celebrity has on a person.  Not to get too soapboxy, but I’m a bit surprised to read some of the reaction to his passing, on places like facebook.  I think in many circumstances there are significant reasons why people turn out the way they do.

Soapbox over.  R.I.P. to the King of Pop.  HEEEE HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

~ by ripcitytoseoul on June 26, 2009.

2 Responses to “R.I.P. Mike”

  1. Sad day indeed. I remember when I first heard the Thriller album. OJ Villareal’s place, his brother had bought it, we were all hooked right away. Shortly after that, his brother got a bootleg copy of the Thriller video. One of the tragic figures of our time, and one of the pure geniuses of our time.

  2. Yeah, people have been pretty cold about MJ’s death.

    I saw a reporter on TV hanging around with a bunch of people outside of Harlem’s Apollo Theater. People were gathered there to remember MJ and what have you. What made me a little nauseous was the way people were trying to get on camera by making sad faces and calling out “I miss you Michael!” or whatever. They were all about the camera crew. Anything to get on TV, right? Wrong.

Leave a Reply

 
