The Spider of Death

The whole time I’ve been here I haven’t seen any gnarly bugs.  There are tons of flies, gnats, mosquitoes and dragon flies, but nothing big and scary … yet.

This morning I was sleep walking to work, barely awake as I weave in and out of the other pedestrians, dodging the cars that seem like they are trying to run me over.  Crosswalks don’t mean that it’s safe to cross in Korea.

Up ahead I see something on the street, at least 30 feet away.  Assuming it’s just another rat sized dog that most Koreans choose as their canine companions, I proceed.  Nuh uh.  Holy $h#t!  That’s a freaken’ spider.  That is The Spider of Death.

This picture may not do it justice, but consider that I shot it from 10 feet away.  I better not see any more of these things.

P8040100

Learn Korean with KoreanClass101.com

~ by ripcitytoseoul on August 5, 2009.

4 Responses to “The Spider of Death”

  1. annyeong!

    That spider looks really cool! lols. what specie is that by the way?

    • No idea on the species. I have a hard time thinking it wasn’t someone’s pet that escaped. It was that gnarly.

  2. AHHH are you kidding? That picture TOTALLY does the thing justice. I freaked out just seeing 1/4 of the picture as I was scrolling down…

  3. Eeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwww!

Leave a Reply

 
