Tomatillo Grill

Tomatillo 3

When living in a place like Seoul there are endless things that you miss from home. Friends, family, the start of OSU football season… Mexican food! I was told I would never find decent Mexican food in Seoul. There are a few places like On the Border, which is an overpriced, underperforming chain that we have back home (although it is a fun place for group events). There are other hole in the wall Mexican restaurants in places like Hongdae and Itaewon, that truthfully I’ve never tried because they don’t look all that impressive… and I’m a serious Mexican food snob.

Thank God I found Tomatillo Grill! They have a few locations, I’ve only been the Jongno location, just outside of Jonggak station, opposite side from Bosingak, like you are walking towards the giant hammering man statue. I’ve been 4-5 times now and haven’t been disappointed yet. It’s not authentic Mexican. It’s similar to the Americanized Mexican food at home on the West Coast.

Similar to an establishment like Chipotle back home, you order from the counter and they prepare your meal in front of you. You choose from what you want your food wrapped in: taco, burrito, quesadilla… then you choose your meat. I have tried the carne asada, the carnitas and the chicken. All have been delicious. I was surprised by the carnitas, not expecting anything special, but the pork is actually very good, with peppers and onions. One thing to note, the carne asada will cost you 500 extra, I think it’s imported beef. Combo meal includes rice, beans and a soda for an additional 5,000.

I go for two tacos, rice and beans and a soda, and it’s a good sized meal. I have found that you get more with two tacos than with one burrito, and it only costs just a little more. Plus I prefer my Mexican food split up in smaller portions like that.

One suggestion would be the addition of corn tortillas and corn chips, everything at Tomatillo is made with a flour tortilla. But, the salsa and the guacamole make up for it.

It’s not the cheapest meal out there, especially when you add imported Mexican beer or a margarita, but it’s definitely worth it on a regular basis to keep your sanity. I really love Korean food, but there is no substitution for a good taco plate every once and a while.

P7250098

Tomatillo 2

Tomatillo 1

Learn Korean with KoreanClass101.com

~ by ripcitytoseoul on September 10, 2009.

8 Responses to “Tomatillo Grill”

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

  2. Appreciate the kind words for our food!!!! There’s a coupon for a free burrito waiting for you at our store~Enjoy.

    • Wow, thanks! We love your restaurant.

    • Thought it was worth noting that all attempts to redeem this free burrito have failed, the Jongno restaurant has no idea what I’m talking about. And after an email to Steve from the comment above, a coupon was supposed to be mailed to me, which I never received. Not that it’s that big of deal, I just don’t think it’s fair to advertise free stuff when it’s clearly not happening. I won’t be going out of my way to visit any longer.

  3. Hey…i hadn’t heard back from you, so i was guessing you got the 4-pack coupons already. Guess you hadn’t. I’ll talk to our store manager and see what happened.

    • Steve, I showed up at work today and was very happy to see the coupons. Thanks so much, I can’t wait to take my next trip to Jongno. Happy New Year.

  4. […] Burgers Hotteok Restaurant Signs Bungeoppang Tomatillo Grill Butterfinger Pancakes Dried Squid Sweet sweet Choco Pie Shrimp Burger Thunderstorm Burly […]

Leave a Reply

 
