Moon Blues Road Trip Part 4: The Sultans of Swing

P9040152

I wanted to give a special shout out to the organizers of this whole amazing road trip… the owners of the Moon Blues bar in Guri. Their story is awesome. They’ve known each other since they were babies, and now in their 40’s own a rad bar together, that has become a gathering spot for many foreigners living and working in Guri, who speak of the bar as if it’s a home away from home. It seems to hold a special place in their heart. When many of these foreigners leave Korea they also leave a little something behind for the Moon Blues guys, whether it’s painting, poem or a mixed CD, of which we listened to several during road trip.

P9050166

Speaking of, these guys had pretty good taste in music, and that’s coming from a music snob. It was a mix of their own Korean music, the kind of classic rock held in high regard by the whole world, and the influence of all the international foreigners that have passed through Moon Blues. I don’t think we repeated anything the whole time we were in the car… except the classic Sultans of Swing by Dire Straits which was on blast at least twice a day. They love that song. So that’s what I call them.

P9050188

They had a unique camaraderie, one that would be the envy of any crew. You could often find them separate from the pack, laughing hysterically at a joke one of them just told, or discussing the plans for the rest of the day… or digging deeper for more makali. One of the others on the trip, that knows these guys very well, referred to them as the A – Team, explaining in his own words why each of them matched up so well with either B.A. Baracus, Face, Hannibal or Murdock. I don’t really know them at all, but I really enjoyed their company, their generosity, and all around willingness to provide such an amazing experience to someone like me.

So here’s to The Sultans of Swing, my vote for the coolest Koreans on the planet. Hopefully I’m lucky enough to experience another Moon Blues Roady during my time in Korea.

Korea 6 Summer 2009 032

Learn Korean with KoreanClass101.com

~ by ripcitytoseoul on September 24, 2009.

6 Responses to “Moon Blues Road Trip Part 4: The Sultans of Swing”

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. this entry makes me want to skip the rest of my classes hop the train to moonblues and drink jack and coke until i pass out. we call him the sultans of swing.

  3. Hey,
    I just moved to Guri, how do I get to this bar? I can’t find directions anywhere! Thanks!

  4. […] Moon Blues Road Trip part 1 Moon Blues Road Trip part 2 Moon Blues Road Trip part 3 Moon Blues Road Trip part 4 […]

Leave a Reply

 
