Banana in a Bag

I’ve never seen this until I moved to Korea. Not all of the time, but most of the time, when buying bananas, they come in a giant bundle of 8-10. There is no way I’m eating that many bananas before they go bad. Produce goes bad very quickly here. But there is another option… the banana in a bag. I’m not sure why, but a banana in an individual plastic bag does not seem appealing to me.

2 for 990 at E-Mart. 1 for 1,200 at Starbucks. Luckily, there is a little produce stand not too far from my pad where I can get 4 for 1000, not pre-sealed in a plastic bag.

Banana in bag 2

Banana in bag

Learn Korean with KoreanClass101.com

~ by ripcitytoseoul on October 19, 2009.

2 Responses to “Banana in a Bag”

  1. Ironically, a couple of days after you posted this, I read an article about a states side grocery store looking at this. I don’t recall which one, but I guess they are bagged in a special kind of plastic and it extends the life of the banana by five days. Found it quite ironic after you posted this.

  2. Oh, and leave it to Starbucks to charge 2.5 times as much, yet have the banana that looks like it’s almost about to go to mush.

Leave a Reply

 
