Die Mosquito

I’ve written about it before, but the obsession that Korean children have with the word ‘die’ is worth talking about over and over. They don’t know when to use die instead of dead or died, and it’s comedy because the word is so commonly used in their every day conversations.

Today, I became a Korean child. While my youngest class was face first in their review test at the beginning of class, behaving beautifully and concentrating on acing their exam, I was hunting mosquitoes in the classroom. As I move in on my prey, and wind up with the grade book, about to slap the ceiling in an act of dominance, I say, “Die mosquito” with enough volume to unintentionally distract them just in time to look up and witness the slaughter. My act of bravery gained applause, cheering and laughter upon revealing the squished bug carnage on the grade book.

I tell them all to settle down, and they get right back to work. And, as instructed, when they are finished with their review tests, they turn it over and draw me pictures until it’s time for me to gather the tests. To follow is some of the artwork that I inspired on this frigid Monday in November.

Die

Die 2

Learn Korean with KoreanClass101.com

~ by ripcitytoseoul on November 16, 2009.

2 Responses to “Die Mosquito”

  1. […] Die Mosquito Halloween at the hagwon Dust in the Wind It’s Lunch Time Drawings And Boom Goes the… computer Teacher Dustin’s Kids Rock Scissor Paper […]

  2. “You are die!” Haha!

Leave a Reply

 
