Yi Sun-sin

My favorite landmark in Seoul is the statue of Admiral Yi Sun-sin. It’s located in Jongnogu, Gwanghamun area, close to City Hall. Because it’s such a centrally located part of town, I see him all the time. He rests high above motor and pedestrian traffic, with Gyeongbokgung Palace and Mount Bukhansan in the background. His pose suggests… bring it on dude, I will dominate you. My girlfriend says that his broad shoulders remind her of me. The little replica statue she gave me sits on my book shelve, keeping an eye on my every move.

According to Wikipedia, Admiral Yi was a Korean naval commander noted for his victories against the Japanese navy during the Japanese invasions of Korea during the Joseon Dynasty (1592-1598). He is reputed to be one of the few admirals to have been victorious in every naval battle in which he commanded, at least 23 of them, and remains as a venerated hero among Koreans (and red bearded, broad shouldered foreigners) today.

I’ve also seen his name spelled Lee Soon-shin

Learn Korean with KoreanClass101.com

~ by ripcitytoseoul on March 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
