Facebook thinks I’m Dustin Pedroia of the Boston Red Sox

My girl uploaded an old picture of us on Facebook tonight. The purpose for doing so was to make fun of me. You see, that particular picture is the only picture in existence of me with a goatee, rather than the full beard that’s become standard.

In the “News Feed” Facebook recognizes my girl and I as the two people tagged in the photo. However, while viewing the actual picture, Facebook says that Dustin Pedroia is the Dustin hugging my girl. This Dustin is the second baseman for the Boston Red Sox, not the teacher and writer in Korea.

Neither my girlfriend or I have any connection or affiliation to Dustin Pedroia, on Facebook or otherwise.

I can’t explain it. Does this have anything to do with the controversial Facebook facial recognition software? Maybe there was an error when computing which Dustin to identify? Seems like even with that recognition software, you would have to approve the tag after someone has been identified. I haven’t done any research though, so I’m not how that thing works.

Regardless, it’s kind of cool.

~ by ripcitytoseoul on July 1, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
