Interview with the Silent Disco DJs – June 2011 NEH Magazine

To follow is the interview I did with DJ Space Munkey and DJ Some Guy, aka the Silent Disco DJs, as part of the 2011 World DJ Festival review in the June “The Arts Issue” of NEH Magazine.

You can experience Silent Disco for yourself at the One Year Anniversary celebration on Saturday, July 9th in Hongdae Park.

———-

Maybe you’ve seen the hordes of people frolicking about the park in Hongdae on Saturday nights and said to yourself, “What are they dancing to, I don’t hear any music?” Take a closer look– they are all wearing wireless headphones receiving the pumping dance music transmitted from a DJ booth in the back. The event is called Silent Disco, and it’s a damn good time.

Patrick James Willis a.k.a. DJ Space Munkey and John Morgan a.k.a. DJ Some Guy are the two predominant purveyors of the World DJ Festival sponsored Silent Disco sounds. Here’s their story:

NEH
How long have you guys lived in Korea?

DJ Some Guy
I have been living in Korea now for about seven months. I arrived in the end of September.

DJ Space Munkey
I have been in Korea for a little over a year.

NEH
Tell us about Silent Disco.

DJ Some Guy
Silent Disco is not a new concept, I have heard of them in Europe and Goa, India, but it is unfamiliar to most people here in Seoul. It is similar to flash mob. We show up in Hongdae Park around 8pm and set up. This is as simple as setting up a generator and DJ console. Then people can simply provide an ID and get a pair of wireless headphones that connects them to what DJ Vamp, Space Munkey, and I are playing. From there, all they have to do is dance… and look odd to the passerby who has no idea why they are all dancing.

DJ Space Munkey
Silent Disco is a block party that won’t piss your neighbors off. It is a DJ playing live to the partygoers who are wearing wireless headsets. So it feels like the DJ is playing right to you. We definitely get crazy looks from people walking by. All they see is people dancing and screaming to silence. It really blows people’s minds.

NEH
How did you two get involved with Silent Disco and the WDF?

DJ Some Guy
By chance. I saw them playing once when I was out with my friends. I had just arrived in Korea maybe a month before. I asked if they needed a DJ and the rest is history. They liked a mix I sent them and I played my first gig on Halloween, which turned into an epic, five-hour long set that is still probably one of my favorites. Then it was just as simple as them asking us if we wanted to participate in the WDF as a part of the Silent Disco crew…of course we didn’t hesitate to accept.

DJ Space Munkey
I sent them an email asking if they needed DJs and attached one of my mixes. They responded telling me that I should come out to Hongdae and give it a try. Once I dropped my first song I was immediately hooked. That was around last October and I have been with them since.

NEH
What were your most memorable experiences from the World DJ Festival?

DJ Some Guy
Probably just seeing all of the people lined up for Silent Disco all day and night which shows me we are doing something right. Seeing everyone having a great time is what really makes it all worthwhile.

DJ Space Munkey
The feedback from the Silent Disco fans. I had people come up to me and tell me how much they enjoyed what we were doing. That alone makes you feel great to know that you uplifted someone with your mixing.

NEH
Who were your favorite performers?

DJ Some Guy
Probably Taku Takahashi, Lazy Rich, and the flame juggler group…what they do is pretty impressive. I also saw the live anime voice actor group. That was pretty wild; I have never seen anything like that, and from what I could tell the content was pretty funny. It’s a pretty cool concept to see them all getting so into the characters.

DJ Space Munkey
The Squatters, Lazy Rich, and Dada Life. Dada Life’s show was just so energetic and the bananas always get me.

NEH
Who are your favorite artists right now and why?

DJ Some Guy
Some artists I am into are Shinichi Osawa, Autoerotique, Strip Steve, Q-Tip, Deerhunter, and this Korean band 눈뜨고코베인 I stumbled upon in a record shop. I have always been into a wide range of styles, music is a big part of my life. I think each group has something different to offer that the others don’t have. Listening to all of them, I can get a sense of music as a whole.

DJ Space Munkey
I too have been influenced by a variety of different artists and genres, so it’s always hard to choose, but some artists that I’m following right now are Innerpartysystem, Chrizz Luvly, and Lucky Date.

NEH
What current trends in music are you excited about?

DJ Some Guy
I really like the blending of electronic music into mainstream music. It seems like this has really picked up in the last couple years and it’s a great way to expose this style to a wider audience. I also have been getting into dubstep more. There really isn’t much I can think of that I don’t like.

DJ Space Munkey
I’m excited to see dubstep breaking in Korea, seeing the reception at WDF definitely gave me a taste of things to come.

NEH
Are you working on any projects?

DJ Some Guy
I am currently working on a couple tracks as I just recently bought some new software that I am pretty excited to test out. I am also working with DJ Space Munkey as the super group BOOM BOOM RADIO!.

DJ Space Munkey
I am working on some original tracks at the moment. Be on the look out for some Space Munkey bootlegs circulating around Seoul this summer and also BOOM BOOM RADIO!

NEH
How can our readers stay updated on what you’re doing?

DJ Some Guy
They can check out my Sound Cloud page. It is primarily composed of mixes that I make in my spare time. It’s just something fun that I can use to share music that I am listening to at the moment with everyone.

DJ Space Munkey
You can visit my blog at http://www.djspacemunkey.com, and you can also download my mixes and tracks at my soundcloud page.

~ by ripcitytoseoul on July 4, 2011.

2 Responses to “Interview with the Silent Disco DJs – June 2011 NEH Magazine”

  1. Wonderful! Glad to have DJ Spacemunkey’s Soundcloud!

  2. Silent disco party? is super cool
    Take a look at this events in europe
    http://www.silentdiscotheque.com/silen_disco.html
    http://soundtransporter.com/
    http://silentdisco.de/

    Really great time!

Leave a Reply

 
