Facebook Event Fatigue

Is it me, or has social networking become mundane? Facebook in particular.

The problem is, I can’t just quit. It’s like a drug. Living in Korea, it’s a major artery in the circulatory system that delivers vital information to the body of my friends and family back home. Simply put, it has become the easy place for me to share with them, and to receive updates on their lives in return.

In order for this to happen, I must suffer through the onslaught of party promotions, and the never ending stream of notifications, group additions, and public displays of TMI (I’m probably guilty of this, my girlfriend forces me). BLAH. I do not care.

In general, using Facebook as a means to promote something is a good idea. But my God. Use some tact people. Multiple event pages to the same event is annoying. Each person that is trying to make a buck selling tickets is creating a new page. Not only do you get an invitation from the beer provider, but also a magazine, the DJ and an emcee. One event, eleventy-million different pages, each with a separate invitation … to the same event.

Even if there is only one event page, in many cases that one event is being being promoted daily by any number of people, for a long time leading up to the event. In a recent example, a well known comedian (to some) appeared in Seoul in October. Promotions slowly began in August, when apparently tickets were going fast. Throughout September, and on in to the day before the event, in October, this event was plugged very often by every funny person in Korea. Very often is an understatement.

Enough is enough. I call it event fatigue, and find that it actually creates the opposite of the intended effect. I don’t want to take part in any of it, and I certainly don’t want to go to your event. Overdoing it has become the norm and that is extremely tiresome. In the case of the comedian, the people promoting the event were my friends, and I’m sure the comedian himself was amazingly funny. Doesn’t matter to me, event fatigue guaranteed I would not be in attendance. I had simply grown tired of seeing his bearded face all over the internet. I am the only bearded face people want to see all over the internet.

There are still plenty of good reasons to be on Facebook, too many to up and quit altogether. That just means I have to sift through the loads of BS in order find and stay updated with what I actually want to know about. Yes, I know I can mess with the settings, turn off the notifications, but then I miss out on the 1 in 50 that I actually wanted to receive.

Will there ever be a substitute to Facebook?

Portland Twitter Queen Tara Dublin tweeted it like this:
Facebook is the family reunion you’re forced to attend. Twitter is the afterparty you escape to.

Lately, I’m all about the Twitter. Many people I follow are friends of mine, but many aren’t. Same goes for people that follow me. Maybe that is the appeal. Also, it has proved to be an excellent networking tool.

What will be become of Google+? So far, nothing.

Until something changes, you can find me on Facebook, fatiguing.

~ by ripcitytoseoul on October 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
