Relationship Status Changes

It’s amazing to me how much people pay attention to the little things when it comes to social networking. Admittedly, I’m a Facebook and Twitter junkie. That said, I find a lot of the commonly occurring behaviors a bit strange.

An example is the relationship status on Facebook, something I learned an awful lot about recently.

For the first time ever, my fiance and I changed our relationship status, the night of the big event. I didn’t leave a status update, a picture or anything else. I simply switched it from nothing to “engaged”. Then we went to bed. That’s it.

While we slept, Facebook went insane. The relationship status change had generated more “likes” and comments than any other Facebook wall post I have ever had, and I’m really funny and clever and always post really relevant things that people like (haha). In all seriousness, it was pretty crazy. By the end of the first full day, many “friends” back home in America as well as here in Korea had left their mark on my wall.

In my mind, getting engaged seemed like a good reason to change the relationship status. For one, the fiance pretty much told me I had too. But besides that, I do agree that an engagement is an appropriate time to publicly display the terms of your availableness. Almost as much as getting married.

But the real question is, why do people constantly change the single/in a relationship/it’s complicated type of relationship status? At times it seems like overkill, T.M.I., whatever you want to call it. Something to draw attention, positive or negative. Feel so great for me. Feel sympathy for me. To me, that status seems much different the the engaged/married variety.

I guess it all comes down to how much information you choose to share with the world. In my opinion, people should leave the extremely personal aspects of social networking to themselves. Instead, try sharing relevant information and making fun of other people’s opinions and physical downfalls and choice in sporting teams.

~ by ripcitytoseoul on January 26, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
